Transnational cooperation at its best


Interreg Baltic Sea Region

Cooperation across borders that shapes the region

Interreg Baltic Sea Region

Interreg Baltic Sea Region is a source of EU funding for those with smart ideas to shape the region. The Programme supports partners from eleven countries from around the Baltic Sea in putting innovative, water-smart and climate-neutral solutions into practice.

The Programme is an agreement between EU member states Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Sweden and the northern parts of Germany as well as partner neighbouring countries Belarus, Norway and the northwest regions of Russia.

The Programme is funded by the European Union and approved by the European Commission.

Programme area map for Interreg Baltic Sea Region 2021-2027.

Cooperation keeps rolling for the benefit of the citizens

Interreg Baltic Sea Region in transition

Currently, Interreg Baltic Sea Region is in the transition phase. While the Programme for years 2014-2020 is still ongoing, the preparations for Interreg Baltic Sea Region 2021-2027 are at full swing. All this is to make sure that fresh funding is available for valuable project ideas as soon as possible. Together with other Interreg cooperation programmes, Interreg Baltic Sea Region will contribute to a greener, smarter, more connected and social Europe that is closer to citizens. 

We let great ideas trigger cooperation.

We cooperate to let great ideas thrive.

From the present to the future

cooperation projects from 2014 to 2020

New opportunities for cooperation soon to come

Projects at Interreg Baltic Sea Region 2021 – 2027

Public funding sources

The Programme funds come from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), the Neighbourhood, Development and International Cooperation Instrument (NDICI) and Norwegian national funding. Project partners co-finance activities with their own resources.

The available funding for years 2021-2027 from the European Regional Development Funds accounts to approximately EUR 250 million. There will be an equal allocation of funds to the thematic Programme priorities, i.e. Innovative societies, Water-smart societies and Climate-neutral societies. A certain amount of funding will be dedicated for future platforms and macro-regional governance of the EU Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region (EUSBSR).

European Territorial Cooperation

We are part of Interreg community

Interreg, known as European Territorial Cooperation, is one of the two goals of the EU Cohesion Policy. Interreg contributes to a harmonious economic, social and territorial development of the Union as a whole. It provides a framework for working across borders for partners from different Member States in the European Union and beyond.